Waiting…

Waiting; described in Merriam Webster dictionary as

  •  to stay in a place until an expected event happens, until someone arrives, until it is your turn to do something, etc.
  •  to not do something until something else happens

  •  to remain in a state in which you expect or hope that something will happen soon

 

IMG_5087.JPG

James 5:7 tells us, “Therefore be patient, brethren, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, waiting patiently for it until it receives the early and latter rain”.

Is it just me or does everyone find it hard in the time of waiting?

I really love how one of the definitions was to not do something while we wait for something to happen. When I think of not doing something, I think of being still and perfectly at peace doing nothing, not a lazy type of nothing just a serene type of nothing. But it also is difficult to just sit around all full of peace and serenity while we want things to be happening. Right?

Then we think of what James writes in the Bible, ‘waiting patiently for it until it receives the early and latter rain’. We are to think like a farmer waiting for the precious fruit that he has worked over. My Dad is a farmer and I watch him with grace tend to his trees as if they are his children with patience and love. I think it is why he grows so many different amazing things. His trees never for an instant doubt that he is going to water them or not prune them when they get too bushy.

Jesus is said to be our gardener and our farmer. Sometimes we are in the grove of our lives just waiting to be watered and pruned as the weeds grow up around us. However, if we do not practice patience, we may wither just as the tree would if not tended to properly.

Sometimes in these seasons of waiting, we look around and we let envy creep into our hearts and we need to weed that out right away or it can choke us like a weed chokes a vine in the garden. Envy can fester inside our hearts and just look ugly.

I don’t know about you, but I know I do not want an ugly heart filled with envy and weeds growing up around me choking the joy and life out of my body.

There has been much on my heart lately in this time of wait. I have to embrace this time and spend more time with God watering me with his words and filling me with his presence so that the time passes without worry and envy.

There is a time for everything and God is good ALL THE TIME.

Are you in a time of waiting as well?

Are you looking at others lives and thinking, Why not me? or Why me? Let us weed our hearts today to make sure that we are truly living a life of joy and peace in our time of wait.

God already has a plan for you and for me and it is in these moments, he wants us to turn to Him and to rest in the assured faith that He is with us.

One of my favorite verses in the Bible says,

“To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven

Ecclesiastes 3:1

This may be my season of waiting.

I embrace it and give it all to God.

" You are never too old to set another goal or to dream another dream " ~CS Lewis

