Silent Prayers

694fe5e92cd44e938d90a9c73f4781fb

Six years ago, at this very moment, I was sitting in a hospital bed mightily uncomfortable. At 38 weeks 5 days, I remember the nerves radiating throughout my entire body as I had been in labour for quite some time already. Things weren’t working quite as they should and we had to wait till morning to see the doctor. Every moment that went by, I whispered silent prayers for my body to hold out and start to work properly. I thanked the Lord that my baby was still bouncing around in there and just not wanting to come out yet. Little did I know, it would be many hours longer and into the next morning when the doctor came to check me, only to tell me that I was not dilated even a centimeter. I felt defeated and discouraged that I was not going to have the picturesque textbook birth that I had dreamed of with my doula by my side and my husband on the other with the smell of coconut breeze burning on the candle by my bedside. However, the prayers that God answered came at 1:38 p.m. on August 15th, 2008 when amidst the harshness and frigid temperatures of the operating room, I first heard my baby cry.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I looked into those beautiful blue eyes for the first time, those silent prayers that I had been praying, God had answered in the most magical way.

The bond that a mother shares with her child cannot even be described; having them grow inside of us is a true miracle from God and I think he wanted a mother to have her baby and feel that love so that we can truly understand the love that he has for us.

Over the past six years, I have watched that beautiful newborn grow and mature into the most amazing little boy. He is charismatic and full of life and just is a barrel of curiosity and love. His compassion for the world and all those who live inside it teaches me every day and reminds me to take a deep breathe and stop living in a rushed manner. He does things his way and I love that he seems to be a born leader except not in a bossy way, in a strong and confident way that I can just tell he wont get taken advantage of in his life.

He loves to tell jokes… His favorite one right now is:

Knock Knock,

Who’s there?

Orange.

Orange who?

Orange you glad to _____________________.

sometimes he fills that in with give me a kiss, get me a drink please, give me a hug, get me ready for bed etc… And then he always ends it with “Get it?” HAHA

I love the things he comes up with and I seriously sometimes wonder if he has been around before because let me tell you, they crack me up. However, being a teacher, I have found that this age is filled with testing the limits and seeing what they like best because the world is just at their fingertips. He is heading into first grade in two weeks and I get to be his teacher. I am blessed to have gotten the past three years as his mommy and teacher and so incredibly blessed that I get to teach him this year as well. I get to watch him grow in leaps and bounds this school year as he heads for new adventures, new challenges, and new friends.

I love him more and more every day and I never think it could be possible to love him more until the next day arrives and I have surpassed my expectations and the love has just exceeded and continues to grow.

So tomorrow, I will not be writing or online because I will be spending the day with my beautiful, vibrant, amazing little boy, Wyatt; but for now, I will enjoy every moment that we have left of my little five year old, because this moment, this day, this night, this mark of time will never come again and when I look back on this day, I will remember having the most fabulous day with him preparing for his sixth birthday party; Curious George Extravaganza at the beach.

Happy Birthday my love.

IMG_6422

So before I close this out tonight, I will say another silent prayer to the Lord and thank Him for every day that He has blessed me with over the past six years and for sending me such an amazing little boy to raise and nurture and love.

Free “a prayer for my children” printable! This prayer is based on Colossians 1:9-11 and is a beautiful prayer of blessing and empowerment for your children.

Blessings to you,

3 thoughts on “Silent Prayers

" You are never too old to set another goal or to dream another dream " ~CS Lewis

