Made for Holiness

Ephesians 4:24 says our new self is “created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” Do you believe it is possible to live a holy life before God?

In the verses leading up to Ephesians 4:24, it tells us:

Throw off your old sinful nature and your former way of life, 

which is CORRUPTED by lust and deception.

In order to be renewed in our new life with Christ, we have to get rid of the old ways. This is pretty similar to our new way of eating that we have been working on in this Bible Study. In January, I changed my lifestyle to clean eating.

Has it been easy?

No, not all the time.

Have I been perfect?

No, but striving to eat cleaner every day.

However, in order to see real results, I have to change the perspective in my mind. I have to throw out the ideas I had engrained in my mind about food as well as throw out the food in my house that is not beneficial to my body.

That verse is so powerful because lust can be for food and deception can be emotional eating or eating behind closed doors thinking it will never show but we fail to realize one thing:

This is when we deceive only ourselves, because we failed to ask ourselves if the food was permissible or beneficial?

Do you know the few times over the past six weeks that I have eaten, even in small portions, something off of my plan that I have gotten sick feeling?

It made me realize, even in small portions, some foods are not worth it. Some foods that we lust for do not help our bodies. I know its ok to plan a treat here and there, but sooner or later if you get sick whenever you “treat” yourself, you learn that its not really a treat.

At this point, a treat feels not like a piece of cake, but a delicious smoothie made with frozen yogurt.

Not a piece of fried chicken, but a piece of my husbands yummy bbq grilled chicken.

You see, after the times I have felt sick whether it be a headache that I normally do not get, or a pain in my tummy, that I usually do not get, It brings the perspective back where it needs to be.

I need to be #Courageous and just give up the idea of food that I had in order to really succumb to Gods righteousness.

After I have thrown these things off, then and only then will my soul, mind and body be ready for whatever God has planned for me.

He tells us in many places that he has plans for us, for you, and for me!

“…you put on the new man which was created according to God, in true righteousness and holiness.”

By sloughing off the old skin of the snake, we can be receptive to Gods holiness and true righteousness. But if we keep the old skin on, the devil uses us for his plans not Gods. I for one do not want to be lusting after food or deceiving my temple that God has lent to me. I want to use this life for good and for holy things to help show others the way to Christ.

Lets band together and shed the skins of the snake, and put on our armor of God so that we can truly wear the belt of truth, and the breastplate of righteousness with glory and honor in Jesus name.

Blessings to you my friends,

 

12 thoughts on “Made for Holiness

  1. Much as I “hate” snakes the image of shedding it’s skin was a vivid reminder to me of just how many old ideas and behaviors I still need to shed on this journey to finding personal peace and holiness. Thanks for your encouraging words.

  2. Every time I read your byline about being in the sunny Bahamas, I smile. I pray that you continue to cling to this desire to make the next right choice again and again!
    🙂 Missy (OBS Blog Hop Team)

" You are never too old to set another goal or to dream another dream " ~CS Lewis

