2 Corinthians 12:9

Grace.

IMG_5104e

What do you think of when you see that word?

By definition, grace means:

  • elegance: elegance, beauty, and smoothness of form or movement
  • politeness: dignified, polite, and decent behavior
  • generosity of spirit: a capacity to tolerate, accommodate, or forgive people

There are tons of verses that touch on grace in the Bible; 170 so google says.

Ephesians 2:8-9; John 1:16; 2 Corinthians 8:9; 2 Corinthians 12:9; 2 Corinthians 9:8. Grace...wherever God is!

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

1 Corinthians 12:9

 

Our God is amazing. His grace or capacity to tolerate, accommodate, or forgive people is sufficient for me; for YOU.

When we fully surrender ourselves to God, and when we feel like we have nothing left to give of ourselves is usually when we find the strongest connection.

I know I am preaching to myself here when I say that so often, I take that wheel. I am like, “Ok God, I’ve got this! I can handle this all by myself!”, only to find that I have come short of the goal.

It reminded me of my five year old. This is the age of “I can do this all by myself”, yet they are reminded so much that they need guidance. When they do things all on their own, through their own imaginative ways, it usually ends in a mess of some sort or by some miracle it works and they miss the lesson before them.

I know on more than one occasion, he has come to me and said, “I should have asked for help!” Umm Yea, Kiddo! I always encourage him to try things on his own, but he needs that guidance to get there.

Our Heavenly Father is up there encouraging us too, but sometimes we are too stubborn to listen. We are all about doing and going on our own until we mess up miserably and want to come crying about it then.

God wants us to come to him BEFORE we mess things up. He wants us to be weak, so that his power can give us strength.

Remember the old song, “they are weak, and he is strong, YES Jesus loves me!” We need to find weakness. I think sometimes that word puts us off.

By definition, weakness means:

  • lack of strength or determination: lack of strength, power, or determination
  • weak point: a weak point in the structure or arrangement of something
  • character flaw: a feature of somebody’s character regarded as unfavorable

When we see weak, we think of failure. God does not want us to be failures. He just wants us to open our minds to His love which is unfailing and perfect. If we are all out and about doing things all on our own and never failing, then I think we would never turn to Him.

God does not just choose the elite of society; the perfect Christians.

God loves us at our worst and our best… he sees those treasures hidden in darkness.

bible-verse-2-corinthians-my-grace-is-sufficient-for-you-for-my-power-is-made-perfect-in-weakness1

What would Jesus do? What DID Jesus do? Jesus found weakness on the cross, and God used that to cleanse us from our sins. Jesus paid the ultimate price for OUR sins … thousands of years later. He took all the pain, suffering, anger of the world and bore it on the cross.

We need to acknowledge our weaknesses to God, so that he can use his power to heal our hearts from the inside out.

We cannot walk around in pride thinking we have life in the bag, because that my friends is when we are highly mistaken. We need to be building our prayer pathway that leads ultimately to Christ. It is not a destination, its a way of life.

I have read through the Bible twice now, and yet I find myself in times when I am in a lull and not reading my Bible religiously. In order to continue growing closer to God, I need to drink up his word, and that is where I will be completely satisfied.

 

FAST LEARNING THE EASY WAY! Awsome chronological Bible "read in 6 months couldn't put it down" & "amaqzingbiblefacts.com" learn why God didn't kill Lucifer & what really happens when we die. Things we don't pick up on

I found this neat graphic of ways to study the Bible, Gods Word, the water for our souls.

God promises that his grace is enough for us.

He makes us strong when we are willing to humbly walk in weakness.

The last part of the verse really brings it all home for me; and I hope for you too.

It says, “…Christs power may rest on me.”

Wow.

I want to boast about my weaknesses, and get down on my knees and pray about them to God so that his power will rest on me.

I want Gods power draped over me, comforting me, protecting me, empowering me to make healthy choices along my journey.

Every time over the past few weeks, since starting Made to Crave, I have asked myself before I ate ANYTHING and EVERYTHING… I have so much more energy and I am talking to God SO MUCH MORE than in the past.

I am finding myself craving healthy foods, exercise every day, and best of all craving God with every particle of my being. And you know what?

I LOVE IT!

I am finding #Peace in Gods #Truth, and God is leading me to #Determination and feeling #Empowered while his power rests on me.

Here is a beautiful song by Laura Story, titled GRACE:

Blessings,

Amy

8 thoughts on “2 Corinthians 12:9

  1. Oh Amy this was sooo great! I loved your example of your 5 year old son. This really was a good example of how this verse relates to me.

    Also I loved what you said “In order to continue growing closer to God, I need to drink up his word, and that is where I will be completely satisfied.” Drink up His word! I am trying to be more faithful in studying his word and your pic is helpful so that I can get the most out of my study.

    Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. Amy- what an awesome post. I love comparing our actions to the actions of our children. I’ve done that so many times. I think of how frustrated I would get when my boys would constantly call “mama, mama,mama” and I’d get frustrated- then I’d stop and think “I do the same thing to God and I am so glad He doesn’t get frustrated and tired of hearing me call out His name.” I LOVE the graphics that you shared. Those are definitely going to be saved to my computer, phone and ipad! Thank you for sharing

  3. Thanks Amy, for sharing your thoughts on our verse for this week. I am in the Made to Crave Bible study too. Your post has made me realize that all too often I give in to my weaknesses instead of looking to God for the power to overcome my weaknesses and when I give in to them, I fail. I end up disgusted with myself and it seems like this cycle plays over and over in my life. I pray that God will help me to be strong enough and wise enough to come to Him in the midst of my weaknesses to give me His power to carry me through them in a way that brings honor to Him! Thanks so much for the Laura Story song you shared too! I love her song Blessings, but had not heard this one and every time she sang the words that God gives us His “daily sufficient grace,” it brought tears to my eyes. If only I would just learn to lean on that daily sufficient grace! Thanks!

    • Aw You are most welcome Robin! Thank you for stopping by and reading! Makes me so happy that the words that God provides me with can help another. God will HELP you be whatever you need to be! ❤ I love Laura Story as well! ❤

" You are never too old to set another goal or to dream another dream " ~CS Lewis

