Permissible but not Beneficial

The Believers Freedom

In my student Bible, that is the title of this section in 1 Corinthians. I love these titles because sometimes they can totally sum up an entire chapter.

In my weight loss journey, I have tried many different options, different workouts, different plans, but they all ended in the same way; me feeling like a failure because I was still yet again at the same weight.

However, since starting Made to Crave (Written by Lysa Terkeurst, president of Proverbs 31 Ministries), I have been digging deep down in my soul figuring out the why’s and the how’s of how my body works and why it works the way it does. Now I am starting to realize that if I am bone dry honest with myself, I was allowing myself too much permission for things.

In the plan that I am doing now, they advertise you can eat anything you want as long as you eat the serving size and write it down and its in your allotted daily target. However, I don’t want to keep doing the same thing I have been doing with little to no results.

I WANT CHANGES.

In order for changes to occur, I need to actually MAKE THEM. Yep, sounds simple right? You may be reading this saying, I FEEL THE SAME WAY, or you could be reading this and thinking, “Why did it take her so long to figure out something so simple?”

I cannot give myself permission to eat “anything I want” if I am striving to get my body back to the health level that God intends it to be living. I need to address WHY I may want something sometimes and figure something healthy out in that things place. Because, as I have been reading, no matter what you are craving, it is some type of mineral or nutrient your body actually needs.

1 Corinthians 10:23 tells us:

“Everything is permissible”–

See, if we read just the first sentence and go off running and yelling, “Hallelujah, the Bible tells me EVERYTHING is permissible.”

HOLD THE PHONE… Keep Reading…

It tells us after that:

but not everything is beneficial…

That makes you think doesn’t it?

I know it makes me sit down and say, Oops, maybe I have been going about this the wrong way. Even if I can track a 10 point brownie, does not mean my body would be happy if I ATE THAT 10 point brownie.

It does not even have to be that literal. I can track any kind of meat made in any kind of sauce with any kind of side.

Does it mean that just because you can, means you should?

IT would NOT be beneficial to my body to think like that. So I have been making the transition to CLEAN EATING; well we as a family have been transitioning.

76bb58005a7e279eb6639161328ccc46
Visit: http://www.skinnymom.com/2013/03/14/clean-eating-dos-and-donts-for-getting-started/?_szp=236172 for more info

As I read down further into 1 Corinthians 10, I found some really great treats of a verse.

1 Corinthians 10:31 tells us:

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

Wow.

I mean really!!! READ THAT AGAIN!

We are not seeking approval of the world, we are looking to CRAVE GOD.

God put fruit on the earth to be like Natures Skittles, plants that help make food taste good without any chemicals.

I read something this week and laughed, So I thought I would share it with you too!

DSCN2224e

 

I chuckled, because how many things have I eaten in the past; you know like last week? That’s the past right?

Well I am Moving forward with my Confident Heart to CRAVE GOD! Will you join me? Hop on my Get Healthy train with me! The more the merrier.

So every time I go to eat something now, this little sentence sticks in my head and starts playing in Techno Color :P…

Amy, IS THIS BENEFICIAL???? Or ARE YOU JUST GIVING YOURSELF PERMISSION???

If the answer is, “No, this is not going to help my body in any way.” Then I am not putting it inside my body.

Have a blessed Week!

One thought on “Permissible but not Beneficial

" You are never too old to set another goal or to dream another dream " ~CS Lewis

