HMJ- January 18th

Homeschool Mother's Journal Link Up

In my life this week…

I so missed doing these HMJ’s, and I am so happy to be back. Hmmm… in my life this week, I started this wordpress blog and migrated from blogger. I will always love blogger but I loved the simplicity that WordPress offers. Gadget got his first big boy bike! YAY! He had been apprehensive to try out the pedals on every different bike we had gotten in the past. He always wanted to “Fred Flinstone” it around using his feet to propel but we finally made another milestone; using the pedals.

I am also very excited to start my Made To Crave Bible Study tomorrow with P31. This will be my Third OBS with them. I am ready and rearing to go!

In our homeschool this week…

This past week we dove into our second week of the New Year. Gadget had his second spelling test. We had dabbled a little with spelling words (about five a week) since September but we are doing 8 a week now with one dictation sentence. HE LOVES IT! This kid is so mines LOL I used to get teased because I would want to do more school all the time.

IMG_4888

We have been learning different sight words and word families!

IMG_4885
This is a little activity to practice cutting these out and placing stickers inside the lines.

In History and Geography, we have been continuing our “Road Trip USA” from the lovely Erika at confessions of a Homeschooler. We Love her studies. This past week, we focused on Kentucky and Louisiana. He really is loving learning them. And can state the capitals and states for about 13 of them now.

In Science, we have been continuing Sonlight Science A and learning all about plants. Gadget absolutely has been thrilled with his science experiment with the kidney beans. He planted about five in scott Towel and he has checked them daily. Here is what they are looking like after about one week:

IMG_4882

IMG_4887

In art, he has been learning how to construct pictures using basic shapes. He was very proud of his picture.

IMG_4889

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…

I think my biggest tip this week is to allow your kids to take extra time when they really love something. When I first started, I thought you had to get it done, and had to finish what was set for that day. I have learned that is not always the case. I love when he shows such interest in something and wants to “study some more mom” or “one more page mom”.

So my best advice is to “Let their interests lead the studies sometimes”.

My favorite thing this week was…

Watching Gadget ride down the street on his training wheel bike! It was such a proud moment for us all; he was proud of himself too.

He kept saying, “Mom I cant believe it! I am riding a bike”.

Parenthood is so rewarding.

My kiddos favorite thing this week was…

Well if riding the bike did not score top notch, I would say he was very proud of his ball practice. He is getting so much better at throwing and catching. Its been a big motor skill week!

Things I’m working on…

I am working on my Weight Watchers program and as of tomorrow, Made to Crave Bible Study. Everything with me now is focusing on getting healthier and living simpler enjoying what I already have instead of wanting for more! I am also working towards my 1000 Gifts; writing them down or jotting them in the app that Ann Voskamp has so nicely put together.

I’m cooking…

Steak and Potatoes tonight! Its our Saturday Grill night and I am not cooking HAHA. My hubby takes the chef reigns each Saturday!

What we are reading…

Gadget is reading an assortment of books for school… Here is what he is reading:

IMG_4886

Dick and Jane compilation, Reader D Abeka, I can Read Book 1 and He picked the other off his book shelf. He is so thrilled that he can read now all by himself.

I just finished One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp and The Chance by Karen Kingsbury. This week I will be starting my Made to Crave book as well as Fifteen Minutes by Karen Kingsbury.

I’m grateful for…

Life and its little adventures.

Something I am ogling or have my eye on…

Product Details

This DVD projector for outside to host movies in the neighborhood. I think it would be such a neat thing, and in our neighborhood there are two other families that homeschool as well.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share (silly, serious or both!)…

IMG_4890

Gadget on his Bike this Afternoon

IMG_4952

Have a Blessed Week!

2 thoughts on “HMJ- January 18th

  1. I’m here for the first time from a friend’s blog (A Great Balancing Act). I like your son’s work. Looks good. I like the idea of stickers for sight words. Great one!

" You are never too old to set another goal or to dream another dream " ~CS Lewis

