Another year…

Dear Gadget,

Five years ago, I was sitting in the hospital awaiting the moment when I would finally get to hold you in my arms. Mommy was 38 weeks 5 days pregnant. The doctors thought it was best to try get you on your way but you knew better didn’t you? Nobody can make you do something that you do not want to do. I guess inside mommy’s belly was pretty comfortable, huh?
The moment came, after about 23 1/2 hours of labor. It was so worth it. They snuggled your face close to mines in the operating theater and wow talk about love at first sight. I knew that from that moment on, my world would be forever changed for the better.
Now as I sit here and type this, you are in  your room singing to the top of your lungs; something that only Mommy and a handful of other blessed people get to experience. You are not very shy in your personality but just with meeting new people or maybe people you do not see too often. I love that you are so empathetic towards other people, always wanting to help them feel better and upset when you cannot. Your honesty astounds me and your faith in the positive things in life make me smile. During this past year, You asked the Lord to come into your heart and fill you up. It was the most amazing thing I had ever witnessed. You make mommy want to be a better mommy every day. The hugs, the kisses, the snuggles and the way you cannot go to sleep at night unless we do our routine which involves:
A Kiss, A Hug, A Love, Sweet Dreams, Good Night and I love you.
It really makes my heart melt.
You love to sing and dance. You love to play hide and go seek. I love that you will move furniture to hide behind it and all mommy has to do is say, “READY OR NOT, HERE I COME” and you are already giggling. You are such a good helper; in the kitchen, in the garden, and anywhere mommy may need some help. You are there.
You are writing so beautifully and your reading? WOW. Sometimes you even surprise me still at what you can read.
We are about to embark on our third year of homeschooling together. I want you to remember something, my sweet boy.
Never let anything in this world diminish your love for other people, the huge heart you have for others. Always tell the truth even when you know it will hurt a little. Be independent but do not walk on others to get what you want. continue helping Mommy and Daddy to learn so much every day and enjoy life with you. You make us laugh, you make us smile, and you make us so proud every day.
May your heart be filled with hope, faith, the love of our awesome God, and adventures awaiting around every corner with that big beautiful imagination that you possess. May this year continue to bring you good health and more love than we can possibly imagine.
Mommy Loves You!
" You are never too old to set another goal or to dream another dream " ~CS Lewis

